Book Review: One Month to Live

One Month to Live:  Thirty Days to a No-Regrets Life

by Kerry & Chris Shook

One Month to Live Cover

My Rating:  ***** (5 out of 5 stars)

Why Did I Read?

The authors of this book founded the church my brother attends in the Woodlands, TX.  I am very impressed with Pastor Kerry’s sermons, and I thought the idea of the book was an interesting one.  What would I do if I only had one month to live?  How would I change the way I live my life?  I decided to read it and find out, and I’m glad I did!

Summary (from Goodreads)

What if you only had one month to live? How would you make each day meaningful? How would you relate to others differently? What would you do to make the rest of your life really matter?

With eye-opening insights and soul-inspiring truths, One Month to Live will challenge you to embrace the life God has entrusted to you and you alone, and to live it out moment by moment with wholehearted authenticity, honesty, and integrity.

Each chapter overflows with inspiring quotations, colorful true stories, and questions for reflection. The four sections, which can be read over four weeks, help you examine the core areas inside you that long to be exercised and expressed: how you’re made to live passionately, love boldly, learn from your mistakes, and leave a legacy that endures for generations after you’re gone. Complete with uplifting action points, each of the thirty chapters– one per day in a life-changing month–offers you fresh strategies for overcoming habits that mire you in mediocrity.

Open yourself to the challenge of embracing your mortality and being empowered to live each day engaged in being fully alive.

What Did I Think/Recommendation

I really loved this book!  It is very easy to see that the authors are filled with God’s love, grace, and wisdom, and I am so grateful they shared it all with us in this book.  There are 30 chapters in the book (one for each day of the month), and each chapter presents a new concept and new questions for the reader to reflect on in their own life.  The authors provide examples from their own lives to help us better understand each concept, and I really enjoyed reading those examples.

It is no secret that we are all going to die at some point, but many of us do not like to think of that.  This book helps you to realize your mortality so you can identify your priorities and recognize what really matters in your own life.  It helped me to realize the importance of living intentionally so I may make the most of my time, fulfill my purpose on this earth, and make the difference I was sent here to make.  This book reinforces what really matters in life:  relationships.  Relationships are eternal, but everything else is temporary.

I would absolutely recommend this book!  Read it for yourself and find out what really matters to you.  If you only had one month left to live, what would you change about the way you live your life?

For more reviews on this book, check it out on Goodreads here.  Take the One Month to Live challenge here.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: One Month to Live

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Inspiring Books I Read in 2015 | Journey to Complete Wellness

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Inspirational Books I Read in 2015 | Stacy Loves...

Leave a comment