Book Review: The Unmistakable Touch of Grace

The Unmistakable Touch of Grace: How to Recognize and Respond to the Spiritual Signposts in Your Life

by Cheryl Richardson

My Rating: ***** (5 out of 5 stars)

Why Did I Read?

This was my second reading of this book.  I read it several years ago, but I kept it on my bookshelf and for some unknown reason, I decided it was time to read it again.  Cheryl Richardson is one of my favorite authors and one of my biggest mentors.  Her book Life Makeovers changed my life, but I think I enjoyed this one even more!

Summary (from Goodreads)

Dear Friend,

Twenty years ago, I made a decision to wake up and alter the direction of my life. This set in motion a series of events that proved to me there are no coincidences. Every event we experience and every person we meet has been put in our path for a reason. When we awaken to this fundamental truth, we begin to understand that a benevolent force of energy is available to guide and direct our lives. I call this energy the unmistakable touch of grace.

This book tells the story of how grace has transformed my life as well as the lives of others. While some stories may seem unbelievable, all of them are true. As you follow the journey, you’ll start to see the influence of grace in your life, too. And, once you’ve finished, the way you view your life (and the people in it) will be changed forever.

Many blessings,

Cheryl

What Did I Think/Recommendation

I LOVE this book so much!  I am so happy I decided to re-read it!  It is an easy read, and it is filled with a lot of interesting examples and stories from Cheryl’s life as well as stories from her clients.  At the end of each chapter, I like the fact that she provides lists of resources and books that influenced her in case the reader would like to research the topic further.

As I was reading, I realized that much of what she talks about in this book resonates with me.  I can’t help but wonder if I was introduced to all of these ideas about grace when I read the book the first time, and over the years these beliefs grew stronger as I looked for examples to support them.  I am at the point in life where I believe everything happens for a reason and always for the greatest good.  When my husband lost his job a few years ago, instead of worrying I immediately recognized it as a gift.  I fully trusted that everything was happening for the best, and I knew and assured him that it would all work out.  And of course, it did!   I seldom worry these days, and I am wondering if these beliefs began when I read this book for the first time.  This second reading brought me much peace and reinforced all of those beliefs.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants more peace in life and is interested in growing spiritually.

Check out other reviews of this book on Goodreads.

Favorite Quote

Every event we experience and every person we meet has intentionally been put in our path to help us lead more conscious and fullfilled lives. They are blessings in disguise, gifts that make you stronger, more conscious, and ultimately, more alive.

Leave a comment