Movie Review: Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

I first watched the movie Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead over a year ago.  The title intrigued me, and since I enjoy watching food documentaries, I decided to watch it just out of curiosity.  At the time, I didn’t realize it was going to be a life-changing movie for my family.

Fat Sick and Nearly Dead

Fat, Sick & Nearly dead is a food documentary about a man from Australia named Joe Cross.  At the start of Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, Joe came to America weighing 310 pounds.  As a result of his travels across the country and his 60-day juice fast, he lost 80-85 pounds, regained his health, and learned that “the best way to change the world is to change yourself.”  Since the movie came out, he has inspired many people (my family included) to take charge of their health.

I thought this food documentary was eye-opening and very inspiring, so I convinced my husband to watch it.  Fruits and vegetables are not his favorite foods to eat, but after watching he bought a juicer right away.  Our intention was not to go on a full juice diet, but to include a green juice in our diets each day and increase our intake of fruits and vegetables.  The first month or so, he made green juice daily and was feeling great.  It has been over a year, and while we do not drink green juices every day (as I prefer green smoothies), we do use the juicer regularly.  I make fresh apple juice for my daughters almost daily.  I also juice celery and carrots occasionally to put into soup broth.  Juicing is an easy way to get vegetables into the kids’ diets.  The movie inspired us to try to eat more fruits and vegetables, it inspired us to buy a juicer, and it introduced us to green juices and green smoothies which are now a regular part of our lifestyle.

I would encourage anyone who is interested in taking charge of their heath to watch this movie.  To find out more about the movie or to watch the trailer, click here.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

  1. Pingback: 10 Tips to Begin Eating Healthier | Journey to Complete Wellness

  2. Pingback: 10 Tips to Begin Eating Healthier | Stacy Loves...

Leave a comment