Movie Review: The Best of Me

The Best of Me Movie

My Rating:  **** (4 out of 5 stars)

Why Did I Watch?

I honestly can’t remember the last time I watched a movie before this one.  It has been several months at least, but sometimes I just need to slow down and give my brain and my body a rest and take in a good movie.  That’s what I needed last night.  It was a cool and rainy Wednesday evening, and I was feeling especially tired.  While my husband was working on his computer and my girls were watching one of their favorite shows, I snuck upstairs into my bed with my laptop around 7pm and searched for a good drama on Netflix.

The Best of Me was the first movie that came up when I searched for dramas.  I liked the cover, so I didn’t bother to look further for a different movie.  Of course I have heard you’re not supposed to judge a book or movie by it’s cover, but I usually do anyway.  And, my intuition is usually pretty good at finding the good ones.  I don’t watch a lot of movies, and my time is precious to me so I don’t want to waste it on those that don’t mean anything to me.  I certainly didn’t feel this one was a waste of my time!  It was just what I needed to help me unwind on a rainy autumn evening.

Summary

Amanda and Dawson were high school sweethearts.  After 21 years, they are reunited when they return to their hometown for the funeral of a mutual friend.

Watch the trailer here.

What Did I Think?

Nicholas Sparks has done it again!  He writes the most beautiful love stories, and this one is no exception.  Whenever I’m feeling that my brain is on overload from reading too many deep non-fiction books, I’ll take a break and read one of his novels.

When I decided to watch this, I had no idea it was a Nicholas Sparks movie.  When I saw his name come up on the screen, I knew right away it was just the type of movie I was looking for.

I thought The Best of Me was right up there with The Notebook, Message in a Bottle, and the other love stories Nicholas Sparks has written.  I’m not a fan of the violence, though, and that is why I only gave it 4 stars out of 5.  The violence certainly adds to the suspense, but I just don’t like feeling scared when I’m watching a movie.  Dawson comes from an abusive family. Throughout the movie, I kept waiting for his family members to come up out of nowhere and attack him, and I didn’t like that feeling.  The love story, however, is beautiful.  I believe there are no accidents in life, and this story supports that belief.  It is about love and fate and everything working together perfectly just as the universe intended.  I definitely recommend it if you are a fan of love stories and tear-jerkers.

Find out more about The Best of Me at IMDb here.

Leave a comment