Recipe: Pineapple-Orange-Banana Green Smoothie

October 18, 2014 018 Pine Orange Banana

I am 23 days into October Unprocessed (doing my best to eat only REAL foods, and nothing processed for this month), and I’m feeling great!  Smoothies are one of my favorite ways to get fruits and vegetables into my diet easily.  This Pineapple-Orange-Banana Green Smoothie (originally posted on my blog Journey to Complete Wellness) is one of my favorites.  What I love the most is that all of my daughters love it, too (even with the spinach!!)  A year ago when I first started drinking green smoothies, there is no way they would have tried this.  As they watched me drink them over the past year, it has become familiar and no longer scary to them.  As long as the smoothie is cold, you can’t even taste the greens.  If you’re looking for an easy way to get more greens into your diet, this is a great way to do it!

Ingredients

  • ¾ cup orange juice (I prefer freshly juiced from a juicer, but store-bought also works.)
  • ¾ cup organic baby spinach, packed tightly
  • ¼ cup plain Greek yogurt
  • ½ cup fresh (or frozen) pineapple chunks
  • 1 frozen banana

Instructions

  1. Blend orange juice and spinach in a blender until smooth.
  2. Add yogurt, pineapple, and banana and blend until completely smooth.

Note:  Make sure at least one of the ingredients is frozen.  If not, you may want to add ice.  You want it to be cold because the warmer it gets, the more you will start to taste the greens.

Enjoy!

If you try this smoothie, I’d love to hear what you think.  Please leave a comment below.  Also, I’m always looking for more delicious smoothie recipes.  Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe you would like to share?

Leave a comment