Valentine Activity: Wall of Love

 

VALENTINE WALL OF LOVE 

Wall of Love 2016 logo

I LOVE family traditions, and my kids do, too.  Some of my greatest memories from my childhood are of family traditions.  When my girls are grown, I hope our traditions are something they will look back on and recall as some of the greatest moments of their childhood.  I know I will certainly treasure these memories forever.

Here is a fun new tradition that we started in our family last year.  I call it our Valentine’s Wall of Love.  We used tape to hang a huge poster board on our door.  On the poster board, we drew a heart for each member of the family and wrote their name inside.  Then, each family member writes things they like about each other in their hearts.  Here is last year’s poster:

2015 Wall of Love

Last year, we kept the poster up for a few weeks.  My girls love reading all the nice things that everyone writes about them, and I feel like it brings us closer together as a family.  This is a tradition I can see us keeping for years to come.

Every February, as a family we participate in the February Acts of Kindness Challenge.  Basically, the challenge is for each of us to do at least one act of kindness each day throughout the month of February.  We each have a log on the refrigerator to track our progress.  This Wall of Love project made it very easy for us to complete our Act of Kindness for the day.  Anyone is welcome to join us in the challenge at any time.  Simply join the February Acts of Kindness Challenge Facebook group, and begin spreading your love.  We love it when people share their own acts of kindness stories to the group or other kindness stories they encounter.

I got the idea for this “Wall of Love” from Harvard Homemaker last year on her Facebook page.  We have adapted it a bit for our family, but here is her original blog post describing the activity.

You can certainly use poster board or kraft paper and write on them with markers if you wish.  That is the easiest and quickest way to make this, but if you would like it to be a little more uniform, I have included the images that I used to make this year’s poster.  Feel free to print them out and use them as you wish (they are all JPG’s, so click on the image you would like.  Then, right click and select “Save image as” to save to your computer.  Then you can print them or edit them as you wish.)  If you want to make your own, PicMonkey is a great, free tool that can help you design something that suits your family (PicMonkey is what I used to design all of these images).

2016 valentine label  Happy Valentine's DayDad heart blue mom heart purple Things I love about you feb 2016Blank Heart

I hope you enjoy this project, and I hope it becomes a family tradition that your family will treasure for years to come as well!  Happy Valentine’s Day!

Update 2/8/17 – Here is the 2017 image:

2017-valentine-label

One thought on “Valentine Activity: Wall of Love

Leave a Reply

