Book Review: 90 Minutes in Heaven

90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper

90 minutes in heaven cover

My Rating:  ***** (5/5 Stars)

Why Did I Read?

I first read this book several years ago.  After I finished it then, I had considered it one of the best books I had ever read.  It gave me hope about heaven in the afterlife and took away any fears I had about death.  I wanted to tell everyone who had lost a loved one about this book so they may find comfort.  I recently saw the movie, which focuses more on the pain and recovery of Don Piper and it spends very little time on the experience of heaven.  Sadly, the movie doesn’t do the book justice in my opinion.  After seeing the movie, I decided to read the book once more and see if it had the same impact on me as it did the first time I read it.

Summary (from Goodreads)

As he is driving home from a minister’s conference, Baptist minister Don Piper collides with a semi-truck that crosses into his lane. He is pronounced dead at the scene. For the next 90 minutes, Piper experiences heaven where he is greeted by those who had influenced him spiritually. He hears beautiful music and feels true peace.
Back on earth, a passing minister who had also been at the conference is led to pray for Don even though he knows the man is dead. Piper miraculously comes back to life and the bliss of heaven is replaced by a long and painful recovery.

For years Piper kept his heavenly experience to himself. Finally, however, friends and family convinced him to share his remarkable story.

What Did I Think/Recommendation

I really enjoyed this book, especially Chapters 2 and 3 where Don Piper describes his experience of Heaven.  I find the description of Heaven to be very exciting, and it erases all fears of dying for me.  To those who have lost loved ones, I believe they may find great comfort from this book.  The book is a very quick and easy read.  It held my interest, but I wish more detail would have gone into the description of heaven than of the recovery process and pain.  However, there are many great lessons to learn from this book through learning about Don Piper’s recovery process.

I think there are some very important lessons taught in this book:

  1. Learn to accept help from others when you can’t do something for yourself.  Letting others help you is a gift you give to them, because it makes them feel useful.
  2. Learn to appreciate what you have IN THE MOMENT.  Instead of focusing on the things you have lost or can no longer do, recognize and give thanks for those things you CAN do.  Accept the “new normal.”
  3. Everything happens for a reason.  You may not understand “why” for a very long time, but eventually the reason will become clear to you, and it is always for the greater good.  Trust in the universe.

See more reviews on Goodreads here.

Find out more about the author, the book, and the movie here.

Leave a Reply

