Book Review: A Return to Love

A Return to Love by Marianne Williamson

A Return to Love cover

My Rating:  ***** (5 out of 5 stars)

Why Did I Read?

This was the second time I have read this book.  The first time I read it was a few years ago.  I had read it because I kept seeing it referenced, and I took that as a sign that it was time for me to check it out and see what it was all about.

Summary (from Goodreads)

Marianne Williamson shares her reflections on A Course in Miracles and her insights on the application of love in the search for inner peace.

Williamson reveals how we each can become a miracle worker by accepting God and by the expression of love in our daily lives. Whether psychic pain is in the area of relationships, career, or health, she shows us how love is a potent force, the key to inner peace, and how by practicing love we can make our own lives more fulfilling while creating a more peaceful and loving world for our children.

What Did I Think/Recommendation:

I loved this book!  Marianne is filled with wisdom about life and love, and I truly enjoyed reading it.  I especially enjoyed the parts of the book where she gave examples that related to her own life.  There is so much information in here about every aspect of life!  I absolutely recommend it to anyone who is open to hearing the messages in it.  It is the type of book that will appear in your life when you are ready for it.  Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“Peace isn’t determined by circumstances outside us.  Peace stems from forgiveness.” (p.103)

“Pain doesn’t stem from the love we’re denied by others. but rather from the love that we deny them.”

“There are only two emotions:  love and fear.  Fear is a call for love.”

“Everything that someone does is either love or a call for love.” (p.99)

“We’re not aligned with the Holy Spirit until people can behave in any way they choose to, and our own inner peace isn’t shaken.” (p.118)

“In the holy relationship, we don’t seek to change someone but rather to see how beautiful they already are!” (p.119)

“It is our failure to accept people exactly as they are that gives us pain in a relationship.”

and my favorite:

deepest fear

 Find more reviews on Goodreads here.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Return to Love

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Inspiring Books I Read in 2015 | Journey to Complete Wellness

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Inspirational Books I Read in 2015 | Stacy Loves...

Leave a Reply

