Recipe: Irish Soda Bread – A St. Patrick’s Day Tradition

March 17, 2015 Irish Soda Bread

Homemade Irish Soda bread is one St. Patrick’s day tradition my family has adopted over the past few years.  Until about 5 years ago, I had never even tried it.  Growing up in a French Canadian family in Maine, we did not celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.  We may have worn green, but that was about as far as my family went when it came to recognizing the holiday.  When my husband and I moved south of Boston about 15 years ago, we settled into a very Irish community.  We quickly learned some fun St. Patrick’s Day customs, and we have happily adopted them into our own family.

Irish Soda Bread is one tradition we look forward to every year on St. Patrick’s Day.  This is the only day of the year I will make it, so that makes it even more of a special treat.  I usually have it waiting for my girls when they get home from school, and they devour it in no time!

This is a very simple Irish Soda Bread recipe I found a few years ago, and I have made it every St. Patrick’s Day since.  It is called Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread from Allrecipes.Com.   I modified it slightly because I do not use margarine (I always prefer to use REAL butter because I do not consider margarine a real food.)  Also, I found that the bread cooked quicker than the time specified in that recipe.  My girls think it tastes exactly like KFC biscuits.  If you love KFC biscuits, give this recipe a try and find out for yourself.  My recipe is below.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup butter, melted (for topping)
  • ¼ cup buttermilk (for topping)

Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 375°. Lightly grease a baking sheet.
    2. In a large bowl (or in a stand mixer), mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and ½ cup butter.
    3. Stir in 1 cup buttermilk and egg.
    4. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead slightly.
    5. Form dough into a round and place on prepared baking sheet.
    6. In a small bowl, combine ¼ cup melted butter with ¼ cup buttermilk; brush loaf with this mixture.
    7. Use a sharp knife to cut an “X” into the top of the loaf.
    8. Bake approximately 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

