Book Review: The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity

The Artist’s Way:  A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron

The Artists Way Cover

My Rating:  ***** 5 out of 5 Stars

Why Did I Read?

The book that has had the biggest impact on my life so far has been Life Makeovers by Cheryl Richardson.  Through that book, I discovered myself.  I have been through the 52 weekly challenges in that book for over 8 years now, and I am grateful to author Cheryl Richardson and the book for helping me on my journey of personal growth.  At the end of each weekly challenge, there are a list of resources if the reader wants to go further in depth with the topic of the week.  The Artists Way is listed as one of the resources.  If The Artists Way helped shape Cheryl Richardson into the person she is today, I decided it was worth checking out.  So, I borrowed it from my library, began my journey on the twelve-week challenge, and just I finished it (although I completed it in about 6 weeks instead of 12 so I could get it back to the library before the due date.)  I am planning to take the challenge again.  There are very few books that I actually buy since I can get them at the library, but The Artists Way is one that I feel would be worth buying.

Summary

From the back of the book:  The Artists Way is an empowering book for aspiring and working artists.  With the basic principle that creative expression is the natural direction of life, Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan lead you through a comprehensive twelve-week program to recover your creativity from a variety of blocks, including limiting beliefs, fear, self-sabotage, jealousy, guilt, addictions, and other inhibiting forces, replacing them with artistic confidence and productivity.

The Artists Way links creativity to spirituality by showing in nondenominational terms how to tap into the higher power that connects human creativity with the creative energies of the universe, and guides you through a variety of highly effective exercises and activities that spur imagination and capture new ideas.

What Did I Think/ My Recommendation

I love this book, and I see why it was recommended by Cheryl Richardson in the book Life Makeovers!  There are a lot of great tips in this book that could help anyone looking to unleash their creativity and rediscover the artist within.  I took away some great ideas from this book, and when I applied them to my life, I noticed a huge improvement.  Writing morning pages have helped me to focus on gratitude and prioritize my days.  When I don’t do them, I feel lost and unproductive.  The artist date has been something I have come to look forward to each week.  As time goes on, I hope to schedule more time for artist dates.  There are many other suggestions in the book that would greatly improve one’s life.  Completing the tasks have helped me identify some of my fears and limiting beliefs so I can work past them.  This is not a book that you just sit back and read.  You must do the tasks provided to get the most out of it.  The more time you put into it, the more you will get out of this book.  I plan to go through the twelve-week program again in an even more thorough fashion.

I also loved that the margins of the book are loaded with inspiring quotes, many of which resonated with me.  My favorite quote of all from the book is one from Julia Cameron herself:

“Creativity is God’s gift to us.  Using our creativity is our gift back to God.” ~Julia Cameron

creativity julia cameron

For more information or reviews on The Artists Way, or for more about the author Julia Cameron, check out The Artists Way on Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Inspiring Books I Read in 2015 | Journey to Complete Wellness

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Inspirational Books I Read in 2015 | Stacy Loves...

  3. Pingback: 11 Tips and Tools to Help Ease Your Worries and Fears | Journey to Complete Wellness

Leave a Reply

