Book Review: Rachel’s Tears

Rachel’s Tears by Beth Nimmo and Darrell Scott with Steve Rabey

Rachel's Tears CoverMy Rating: ***** 5 out of 5

Why Did I Read This Book?

I just finished reading this book for a second time.  It was VERY inspirational to me the first time I read it and much of it stayed with me, so I wanted to read it again to give it a proper review.  The first time I chose to read it, I was at the library waiting by the Nonfiction Young Adult section for my daughters to come out of story time, and the title and cover just caught my eye.  I love it when that happens, because usually those are the books that change my life.  This one sure did…

Summary (from Goodreads)

“I am not going to apologize for speaking the name of Jesus . . . If I have to sacrifice everything . . . I will.” -Rachel Scott

The Columbine tragedy in April 1999 pierced the heart of our country. We later learned that the teenage killers specifically targeted Rachel Scott and mocked her Christian faith on their chilling, homemade videotapes. Rachel Scott died for her faith. Now her parents talk about Rachel’s life and how they have found meaning in their daughter’s martyrdom in the aftermath of the school shooting. Rachel’s Tears comes from a heartfelt need to celebrate this young girl’s life, to work through the grief and the questions of a nation, and to comfort those who have been touched by violence in our schools today. Using excerpts and drawings from Rachel’s own journals, her parents offer a spiritual perspective on the Columbine tragedy and provide a vision of hope for preventing youth violence across the nation.

What Did I Think/Recommendation

This book is an easy read that I found in the nonfiction Young Adult section of my library.  Although it will not be for everyone, I do recommend it if the summary catches your interest.

This book has had a huge impact on my life personally.  Rachel’s spirituality and her relationship with God inspired me greatly.  After reading the book, I began writing letters to God in my own journal each day just as she had.  My letters to God have brought me to a whole new level spiritually.  Soon after I began writing to God in my journals, new insights about life were revealed to me while writing, and I experienced a wonderful sense of peace that I had never experienced before.   Through my journaling and letters to God, I have learned that the only thing that really matters in our lives is our relationships — with ourselves, with others, and with God.  I continue to journal often, and there is nothing more comforting to me than knowing I can turn to my journal at any moment and spend a few moments connecting with God when I am in need of peace and clarity.

The peace and clarity I have found in my life is all because of the influence of this authentic 17-year-old girl who just wanted God to use her to make a difference in the world.  She sure made a difference in my life, and I’m sure she has inspired countless others as well.

Rachel’s parents also inspire me through their positive attitude, their willingness to forgive, and their belief that God used the Columbine tragedy for the good of the world.

For more information and reviews on the book, check it out on Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Rachel’s Tears

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Inspiring Books I Read in 2015 | Journey to Complete Wellness

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Inspirational Books I Read in 2015 | Stacy Loves...

Leave a comment