How to Make a Green Smoothie

Green smoothies are packed with nutrition and they are a really easy way to get fruits, vegetables, and more REAL foods into your diet.  They are also delicious and really easy to make!  You don’t even need a fancy blender.  My 14-year-old blender worked out just fine, but I did get a NutriBullet for Christmas this year and I must say I absolutely LOVE it!!  It blends so quickly, and the cleanup is a breeze.  I’ve even used it to grind oats and nuts, and it works beautifully!  I would highly recommend it if you are looking for something stronger than a regular blender.  With that said, any regular blender should work just fine.

I began drinking green smoothies in October 2013, and I began experiencing the benefits immediately.  I had more energy, felt fewer cravings for sugary foods, and I felt full for longer.  I didn’t feel like I needed to eat as much.  I learned the basics of making green smoothies from taking the Simple Green Smoothie 30-Day challenge, and since then I have come up with some recipes that I really love.  Here is the basic formula that I use:

January 8, 2015 007 crop

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup greens (I usually use organic baby spinach)
  • 1/4 cup plain kefir (or greek yogurt)
  • 1/2 -1 cup frozen pineapple chunks (or fruit of your choice)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 teaspoon flax seeds.

Instructions

  1. Blend greens and water until smooth.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.

The combination of fruits, vegetables, seeds, etc. is endless.  Make sure that at least one of your ingredients is frozen.  If not, you may want to add some ice.  When the drink is cold, you cannot taste the greens, but I’ve discovered if I let it get warm, I am able to taste the greens.  Experiment and find the ingredients you like best.  For more green smoothie tips and many more recipes, check out Simple Green Smoothies.

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

