Book Review: The Boy on the Porch

Happy New Year!  Over the holiday break, I was able to enjoy some wonderful quality time with my family, enjoy a little bit of downtime, and even settle in to read a few good books.  My idea of a perfect vacation! 🙂  One of the books I read over the break is a book that has been highly recommended to me time and time again by a good friend of mine: The Boy on the Porch by Sharon Creech.

The Boy on the Porch by Sharon Creech

The Boy on the Porch cover

My Rating:  ****   4 out of 5 stars

Why Did I Read This Book?

I read this book because a friend of mine recommended it.  She knows the types of books I enjoy, and she thought it was one I would like.

Summary (from Goodreads)

One day a young couple wakes to find a boy asleep on their porch. Unable to speak, the boy cannot explain his history. What kind of person would leave their child with strangers? All they know is that they have been chosen to care for this boy. And as their connection to him grows, they embrace his exuberant spirit and talents. The three of them blossom into an unlikely family, and John and Marta and the boy begin to see the world in brand-new ways.

What Did I Think?

I did enjoy this book.  I read very few fiction books, but I did enjoy this story.  I liked the short chapters, and I liked that it was a VERY quick read.  It held my attention right from the beginning.  There was the perfect amount of suspense to keep me interested and wondering where this boy on the porch came from.  I thought the ending was also perfect.  It put tears in my eyes, and I love books that move me to tears!  I would recommend this book if you are looking for a quick, easy, fun read.  🙂  In all honesty, though, I do not think it is a book that I will read a second time.

If you would like more information about the book or the author Sharon Creech, check it out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

