Book Review: Chosen Forever

Summary

Chosen Forever is a mechosen forever covermoir by Susan Richards.  It is the story of her life after publishing her best-selling book “Chosen by a Horse.”  After going on tour to support that book, her life changed in big ways.  She reconnected with many friends and family members from her past, and when she had just about given up hope of finding a man to share her life with, she unexpectedly found true love.

Summary from the Back of the Book

“In the heartwarming sequel to New York Times bestseller Chosen by a Horse, Susan Richards tells of the continuing gifts brought to her life by her beloved horse, Lay Me Down. Readers cried with Richards when, at the end of Chosen by a Horse, her beloved mare was laid to rest in the paddock where she had met her herd — Hot Shot, Tempo, and Georgia. Now they will cheer as Richards recounts the further wonders that came into her life as part of Lay Me Down’s legacy: a bestselling book, a tour to support that book, the reconnection to friends and family who come to celebrate her success, and love–unexpected, complicated, and true.

“When you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing in this life, amazing things can happen.”

And so Chosen Forever works its magic as a sequel of self-discovery, as Susan continues to grow into her new life. Told in charming prose with her familiar and disarming sense of humor, and featuring a new supporting cast of animal characters (a Siamese cat, two pugs, two Labs, and of course, horses), this is another moving tale for readers facing their own challenges at recreating their lives. Chosen Forever is the story of what happens the day after all of your dreams come true — how you learn to accept that you deserve to be happy, and how those we love continue to offer us gifts long after they are gone.”

Message

I think the main message in this book is to BE YOURSELF.  Stop accommodating others and stop trying to be what others expect you to be.  This book demonstrates that there are no accidents in life, we are all connected, and EVERYTHING happens for a reason.  When times are difficult, just continue to BE YOURSELF and remember that everything is happening exactly as it should in it’s own perfect timing, and everything will work out in the end.  It always does.

susan richards chosen forever quote logo

Why Did I Read This Book?

This book was recommended to me by a friend.  Since I love to read and write and have dreams of someday publishing a book of my own, she thought of me when she was reading this and she thought I would like it.

Opinion and Recommendation

I really enjoyed this book.  While I personally couldn’t relate with the author, I did find the story very interesting.  It held my attention and the 278 pages were very easy to get through.  It was a quick read for me (I LOVE quick reads!)  I am grateful for her courage in putting her true feelings out there to inspire and encourage others who may have lost hope.  I probably will not read this book again, but it did spark my curiosity about her previous book, Chosen by a Horse, which I have now added to my list of books I would like to read.  I would recommend this book, especially if you’re an animal-lover.  I rate it 3.5 stars.

For more information about Chosen Forever and other books by Susan Richards, click here.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Chosen Forever

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Inspirational Books of 2014 | Stacy Loves...

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Inspirational Books I Read in 2014 | Journey to Complete Wellness

Leave a Reply

