My all-time favorite book…

My all-time favorite book is filled with inspiration, wisdom, love, compassion, gratitude, and all things good.  Sometimes we all need a little reminder about what is really important in life, and this book does just that.

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Tuesdays with Morrie

I rarely feel the need to read a book more than once, yet this one I have read 3 times, and I could read it over and over again.  I love it because it is a very quick read, yet it is filled with so much wisdom and advice. It is a great reminder of what really matters in life – relationships, love, and compassion.

Through his actions, Morrie shows us that gratitude is the key to happiness. He experiences so much loss as his body gradually withers away, yet he is happy because he chooses to focus on the things he is grateful for. I think this book is a gift to humanity, and I think everyone should read it at least once.

There are SO many great quotes and words of wisdom in this book, but if I had to choose my top 5 favorites, it would be these great bits of advice by Morrie Schwartz:

  • “You know what really gives you satisfaction? Offering others what you have to give.”
  • To find meaning in your life: “Devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.”
  • Be compassionate. And take responsibility for each other. If we only learned those lessons, this world would be so much better a place.”
  • The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in.”
  • “I give myself a good cry if I need it. But then I concentrate on all the good things still in my life.”

I finished my 3rd reading of this book last month.  Just after I finished the book, I was nominated to do the ALS ice bucket challenge to help spread the awareness of ALS.  The timing couldn’t have been more perfect.  For those who want to gain a better understanding of this horrible disease, I think this book provides just that.  For more information on ALS, or to donate, visit http://www.alsa.org/

I wrote a more in-depth book review on my blog Journey to Complete Wellness.  You can find that review here.

What is YOUR all-time favorite book?

2 thoughts on “My all-time favorite book…

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Inspirational Books of 2014 | Stacy Loves...

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Inspirational Books I Read in 2014 | Journey to Complete Wellness

Leave a Reply

