Our Favorite Cookie Recipe: Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

August 25, 2014 007

Cookies are a special treat in our house.  Since we are trying to become more aware of the foods and products we are putting into our bodies, it is a rare occasion that I buy cookies from the store.  Therefore, if we want cookies, we usually make them ourselves.  I like that we are able to control the ingredients and we know exactly what is in them (not that it makes them healthy, but just that we are able to choose the quality of our ingredients and we know exactly what we are eating.  We all need a treat once in a while, right? :)).  I love the special bonding time I get with my daughters when we are in the kitchen mixing the dough together and dropping the balls of dough onto the cookie sheet.  Those are memories I will cherish forever, and I hope my girls will, too.   But for me, I would have to say the best part of making cookies is the smell of them baking in the oven.  There is nothing else like it.  It brings comfort to me, and when my girls are grown, I hope the smell of freshly-baked cookies will bring back some fond memories of their childhood.

Here is our favorite recipe for chocolate chip cookies.  My 10-year-old entered them into the 4-H fair last month, and they won 1st place!!  I originally found the recipe here at allrecipes.com, my favorite place to find recipes.  I halved the recipe because the original makes A LOT of cookies!  Even using half the recipe, I usually only make 2 trays (about 24 cookies), and refrigerate the remaining cookie dough in plastic wrap for later use.  I have not yet tried freezing the dough, but I’m sure that would be an option as well if you weren’t planning on making cookies again in the near future.

August 25, 2014 001

Here is the recipe I use:

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks butter, softened (1 cup)
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 package (3.4 oz) vanilla instant pudding
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 12 oz. package semi-sweet chocolate chips (I like Ghirardelli)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In large mixing bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar, and sugar.
  3. Add pudding, eggs, and vanilla extract to the mixture and mix until blended.
  4. Mix in flour and baking soda.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Drop cookies by rounded spoonfuls (heaping tablespoon) onto ungreased cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 10-13 minutes in the preheated oven (on the 3rd rack) until edges begin to brown.  Note:  The darker the pan, the quicker it cooks.  Mine are usually ready in about 11-12 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven and let cool for a few minutes before removing from cookie sheet.  If you try to remove them right away, they may be too soft and break in half.  They will harden slightly while they are cooling.
  9. Enjoy! 🙂

This recipe makes about 40 cookies.  If you don’t want to bake them all right away, wrap remaining dough in plastic wrap and place in refrigerator.

Here is my 11-year-old’s favorite snack to make out of these cookies:  Ice Cream Cookie Sandwiches!!  Simply scoop your favorite flavor of ice cream in between 2 cookies and enjoy!  Again, not the healthiest snack and we don’t make them often, but they really are delicious! 🙂

Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich

2 thoughts on “Our Favorite Cookie Recipe: Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Cheeseburger Pie | Stacy Loves...

Leave a Reply

