My Favorite Hobby…

I LOVE to take pictures!  Mostly of my kids, but lately I’ve been taking more nature shots and playing a little with food photography.  I seldom leave the house without a camera in my hand.  I literally take hundreds of pictures every week.  People ask me what I do with all of those pictures, so I thought I would share with you my favorite website for storing all those photos, sharing them, and making products out of them.

Creating photo books is my favorite (and most time-consuming) hobby.  A lot of time and effort goes into each book, but I feel it is totally worth it to preserve those memories for my children.  My 10-year-old will often grab one of the books off the bookshelf and look through it.  Before I know it, all 3 of my girls are looking at their books from when they were younger and reminiscing about the good times they had.  I make each of them one book per year and give them on their birthday or Christmas.  I try to capture all the highlights of their year in about 30 pages.  They really look forward to getting these books and looking through them.

I also love the way they fit together on a bookshelf, and they don’t take up too much space.  Here are a few of the books I have created in the past.

September 9, 2014 009

Shutterfly is my favorite website for storing all of my pictures and making products out of them, especially photo books. Shutterfly is always offering great deals.  Once you sign up as a member (which is free), they will frequently send e-mails with special offers and deals.  This week they happened to be offering a FREE 8×8 hardcover photo book.  All I had to pay for was shipping.  For $8.15, I was able to make a beautiful 20-page hardcover book  of our Summer Highlights that my family will look through over and over again.  The book begins from the moment the kids got off the bus on the last day of school, and it ends with the kids getting on the bus for their first day of school this year.  It was time-consuming, but to me, preserving these memories is totally worth the time I spent creating the book.  Summer of 2014 will not be forgotten! 🙂

I also use Shutterfly to store all of my pictures and keep them organized.  Due to the quantity of pictures I take, I schedule a regular time to load them to my computer in order to keep them organized.  Every Sunday night, I load them to the computer and then I load them all onto Shutterfly for my own peace of mind.  If anything were to happen to my computer or external hard drive at home, I know the pictures are safe there.  Once they are on Shutterfly, I can share them with anyone I would like.

Shutterfly also allows you to set up share sites.  This works out great for families, sports teams, Scout Troops, etc.  Every member is able to add and view pictures.  I have done this in the past for family reunions, my daughter’s softball team, and my daughter’s Girl Scout Troop.  It is a quick and easy way to share pictures with a large group. 

I am grateful for Shutterfly for helping me to keep my photos safe, organized, and accessible to anyone I choose to share them with.  I have also used Shutterfly in the past to make Christmas cards, gifts, calendars, and so much more.  The quality is superb, the products are one-of-a-kind, and the memories are priceless.  I am so grateful for Shutterfly.  Check it out!! 🙂

Life is like a camera

One thought on “My Favorite Hobby…

Leave a Reply

